Dairy Fairy Tale

I’ve been attending college now for almost four years, and I anticipate graduating in two months with a Bachelor’s Degree. The last four years have been hectic for me; it’s been non-stop paper writing, book reading, test taking and project presenting all while having a full-time job. I wake up at 5:30 in the morning and I’m lucky if I get to sleep by midnight. Going to the gym and exercising has been nonexistent to me because I am always occupied with work and school. Since I started college four years ago, I gained approximately twenty pounds. Given that this is my last semester, I have decided to incorporate a healthy eating program to my daily regimen as well as adding a fitness program for myself into the New Year. I started to research the internet for a good diet program. Many websites gave me good tips on certain fat-burning “super foods”. For example, fruits and vegetables were considered the healthiest choices. But surprisingly, according to numerous reports, Stonyfield Farm Organic Greek Yogurt is also considered one of the best foods for the human body. Excited about this information, I decided to do research on the internet about organic foods.

Yogurt and Milk

Stonyfield Farm Organic Yogurt started on an actual farm in 1983 in Wilton, New Hampshire. The company started out as a local business in New England for people who wanted pure organic yogurt. However, in 2001 Stonyfield Farm was purchased by Groupe Danone, a French company who also owns Dannon Yogurt and Evian Bottled Water. Groupe Danone decided to make Stoneyfield Farm Organic Yogurt mainstream in the United States, and the company moved its facilities from Wilton to Londonderry, NH. Stonyfield Farm had become a huge success in the United States. Nevertheless, the company was running out of organic sources because there are only so many organic cows that can feed a nation of 300,000,000 people. As a result, Group Danone elected to add powdered milk from New Zealand into their ingredients to produce larger quantities of their product. Fonterra is the largest dairy organization in New Zealand; in fact Fonterra is the largest company in New Zealand. Fonterra is responsible for approximately thirty percent of the world’s dairy exports. Nonetheless, according to The New Zealand Herald, Fonterra merged with a Chinese dairy company named San Lu in 2006. Since then, it’s been found that powdered milk processed by Fonterra/San Lu has been contaminated with the industrial chemical melamine. This contamination has poisoned 6244 infants in China, leaving 158 infants with kidney disease and killing three. Incidentally, Stonyfield Farm makes yogurt for children: YoBaby and YoKids.

Would you give these “Organic” products to your children?

3 responses to “Dairy Fairy Tale

Leave a Reply

